Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of debate, between parents or other family members, on whether their children should be allowed to play computer games. In my opinion, spending time on video games is a waste of time. I believe so for three reasons: deprivation of a variety of activities, lack of any kind of benefit, and implementation of wrong ideas.

Playing video-games deprives children from being involved in a myriad of activities. Children who play video-games choose to spend time inside the house, rather than play outside with friends. As such, they become less active, isolated and lonely. These are long-term consequences, as they are prominent in the early stages of mental and physical development. A child who spends most of his time gaming, is lured into this imaginary world online that provides an environment with no responsibilities, no need to study, to exercise and/or no need to socialize- activities that this child will find unnecessary, and stressful overtime as he does not practice them. This gamer stays constantly in his comfortable-zone, making him prone to regression. To this end, he becomes addicted to playing video-games. Therefore, this young gamer and others also, will become unhealthy, both physically and mentally.

Additionally, computer games do not contain any content that can be beneficial to your children. Although, there are the so-intended educational games in the online market, according to national studies, these games don’t educate, but only generate cash for manipulating companies. Online games don’t aid in physical performance either, since they require your kids to sit, and stare at a screen continuously. Therefore, there is no advantage in playing computer games.

Moreover, due to unlimited access to internet surfing, children may be harmed by having wrong ideas implemented in their mind. Peaceful games are hardly what you will find online. Instead, violent and battling games, which have gained popularity among youngsters, top every list. As a result, children who play these games show signs of aggressive behavior. I have an alarming experience of my own. When I was younger, a friend of mine, whom everyone praised as the technology genius, started changing attitude after playing war games on the computer. He spoke in a commanding tone, and acted as though he was in charge of some imaginary army. When a peer didn’t follow his orders, he relied on violence to change their stance. After a time, he was no longer looked up to as the smart student, but as the scary one. And, I should add that I didn’t see him go back to his old persona. As you can see, everyone can have their mental health severely affected by video games.

Overall, as conveyed in the essay, on the issue of whether parents should allow their children to play computer-based games waste time, because they deprive children from a normal schedule of activities, are not helpful in any way, and can actually cause undesired consequences.