Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? One should never judge a person by external appearances. Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

We live in a society that has the tendency for prejudice. While some people give create impressions of other’s looks, I believe that we should never judge a person by the external appearances. I feel this way for reasons that I will explore in the following essay.

To start with, looks can be deceiving. As such, you get wrong ideas about a person. The way you dress is what partly forms your appearance. Every individual has his own style, and preference for clothing. Therefore, we cannot judge others choices on that matter. For instance, if somebody is wearing their traditional clothes, and you are unaware of their cultural importance, you may be quick to judge that their outfit is inappropriate. As a result, based on your misconceptions, you will choose not to accompany yourself with that person that may have been a politician, or cultural leader of some sort. In other words,

Another reason to consider is that the more you judge others, the more you narrow your perspective. I have a similar, compelling experience of my own. When I was hired for the first time in an international business company, I was exposed to different cultures and types of persons. There was one particular man who never wore a suit, didn’t stand straight, or look at you in the eyes when you were conversing. These really irritated me. Consequently, I chose not to work closely with that employee. However, what I found out later was that that man had immigrated to the U.S., and had lost his properties due to some federal conflicts. However, he had been employed by the company I was working for, because of his impressive skills, and wide range of knowledge. The other workers chose to associate themselves with the person mentioned because he was open to discuss ideas, and plans. In conclusion, I almost lost an opportunity to expand my perspective, due to my incapability of tolerating others for the way they looked.

In brief words, people should stop judging others because of their external appearance, because they may be deceived, and have their mind narrowed.