People work because they need money to live. What are some other reasons that people work? Discuss one or more of these reasons. Use specific examples and details to support your answer.

Some people start working from a young age, while others start their careers later on their life. This occurs due to individual’s different needs and situations. Money is, usually, the main incentive for work. But, what else drives a person to work? I will explain my ideas in the following essay.

To begin with, accomplishing our dream is the first and foremost reason why people work. I feel this way, because human beings share a common to design where they set their aspirations at a young age and work throughout their lives to achieve them. I have a compelling example that proves of this. When I was only seven years old, I dreamed of having a job. This can seem as a child trying to imitate her parents, and it certainly was in the beginning, however, one day I listened to my father read ‘The adventures of Don Quixote’ out load to the children my family was fostering, and on that day I decided that I wanted to be a writer. The joyful expressions that the children had in their faces led me to this decision. This desire grew in me growing up as well. It was an ambiguous goal, as I didn’t know whether I wanted to write, or help homeless children. Notwithstanding this uncertainty, I still worked hard every day to make my dream come true. In brief words, it is the possibility of making our drams our reality that drives us to work.

Furthermore, our parents’ expectations may lead us to devote ourselves to a career. This may either be because our parents want us to achieve great things, and develop ourselves as individuals or it may also come from their desire to see their unaccomplished dreams become true through their descendant’s work. More specifically, due to harsh conditions that were prevalent in the past, elders, like our parents worked as much as they could, but didn’t come to the point where they realize their goals. At such a case, they want their children to continue their job.

In conclusion, people work for many different reasons. It can be for making a profit, but it can also be to achieve their and their parent’s aspirations.