Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

"A person should never make an important decision alone."

We make decisions every day, whether they are of great or small significance, these decisions produce consequences that we must, inevitably, face. While some people prefer to make important decisions on their own, I am convinced that having a counselor while you make such decisions is more advantageous. I feel this way for the reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, making decisions with a partner will make it easier and more efficient to find the best solutions. We all have the tendency to judge from one perspective, which narrows down the number of solutions we can find. Nevertheless, the decision we may make on our own may be the wrong one. In such a case, we would have no choice but to confront the consequences. However, we are not aware of this matter. In contrast, sharing our responsibility in decision-making with a friend we trust, a member of our family, or a counselor of our choice will expose us to different perspectives. If our proposed solution is disadvantageous, a second pair has a greater probability to notice it. Additionally, if we haven’t come to a singular decision, our partners can advise us based on their experience. In brief words, having a partner while we make decisions of great importance is more beneficial than compared to making decisions alone.

Furthermore, even vocalizing our problems and the decisions that we ought to make can help us in decision-making. More specifically, it has been scientifically proven that when stating our decisions out loud, we become aware of the mistakes or loopholes in our suggested decisions. As such, if we discuss our suggestions with our trusted companions, even in the case where our friend cannot advise us, we can find the best solution throughout the conversation. One experience of mine proves evidence of this. When I was a sophomore in high school, I wasn’t sure whether to inform my professor regarding an academic issue. Therefore, I chose to consult with a classmate first. He didn’t have a solution for me, however, when I expressed my suggestion, I found the mistakes in my proposal. Being exposed to those mistakes helped me make the best solution, because I chose to do the exact opposite of my initial proposal. As such, I didn’t face the possible adverse consequences.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that it is better to take important decisions with a partner for the reasons mentioned above.