Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the above statement that playing computer games is a waste of time. However, I do not agree that children should not be allowed to play them. This is because I believe that even though children should be advised not to play computer games but not allowing them to play will be a restriction on their freedom of choice. So, a happy in between solution is needed.

I first encountered computer games when I was in class 5. Initially, they caught my attention and I was very much fascinated with them. As, this was the time when computers were beginning to be introduced in India where I was growing up. So, this was very much a new thing for me and so I began to watch other people playing them first as I didn't know anything about it. Gradually I began to warm up and learnt the various keys that were used to play these games. I was extremely excited when I played my first computer game. From then on there was no stopping me and I wanted to play all the time. I was constantly hooked on to the computer and used to play them sometimes even the whole night. I was seriously getting addicted to them to the point where I wasn't paying much attention to my studies and my grades began to fall. This made my parents worry about me and they came to talk to me about it. Initially I was in no mood to listen to them but their love and support helped me in to decrease my time on the games and focus more in the studies. First, it was very difficult as my mind was absorbed in the game but I understood that I need to focus on my studies. So, I made a resolution that I will not play any computer game until I pass my class with good grades. The interesting thing was that by the time I passed my class, I had lost my interest in the computer games and never played them again. I still remember their addiction on me and how hard it was for me to let go of them. Therefore, I do not recommend anyone to play the computer games.

The time that children play computer games could be utilized in number of ways. Children may play outside with their friends and in this way not only build close bonds with them but also improve their health and fitness by involving in various physical activities and sports with their friends. On the other hand, playing computer games doesn't involve any physical activity and play cause obesity and decreased fitness levels among children. Also, children do not need friends to play computer games and so may not form close bonds with their friends and in the long run may suffer isolation. Further, playing and gaining good skills in computer games may not bring them much benefit in their education or career and so it might just turn out as a waste of time in the long run. The time that children may utilize in improving in their studies, sports, fitness, general knowledge and society may get wasted away with no benefit coming out of it. Worse even that if children get addicted to these computer games then they may lose some precious time in sitting in front of a computer and not learning any real life knowledge that may have been helpful for them.

Therefore, for all the above reasons, I strongly believe that playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should be allowed to play them if they want to experience and have fun for some time. However, they should be given warnings about their addicting nature, deleterious effects on the health, education and well being of a person. Thus, children should be discouraged from playing them without restricting them to play. As by restricting them children might want to play them more and may become very well addicts while playing in secret. So, proper knowledge is the best key in this situation so that children can experience them if they want to without getting any ill effects from them.