Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, computers have influenced the life of human beings substantially in a variety of forms. The live hood of modern day societies is absolutely tied with the astonishing advancements, being brought about, by computers. One propagated form of which is computer related games. While there is a plethora of people who are in the conviction that playing computer games is throwing precious time away, others take a radically different point of view asserting that these games can have their own benefits for the children. To the extent that my personal perspective is concerned, I accord with the second group. Among countless reasons which give adherence to my opinion, I will delve into the most conspicuous ones in what follows.

Firstly, children need a proper bed for their cognitive abilities to grow. Imagination is a vital element for kids to possess and it can find an opportunity to flourish through games and stories. Not only does computer games provide a Pictionary description of the events that take place in the story, it also gives a chance to the children to be the hero they desire. Nourishing their ego, the story continues to boost their self-esteem and reflects a more positive self-image of them for them. Were my parents to deprive me of engaging in computer games, I wouldn't have become the writer that I am today, my older brother always says.

Secondly, the definition of knowledge is altering as the time goes by. Gone are the days, when a man would be called a knowledgeable one, if he could do simple math and knew how to write and read. Nowadays, knowing how to work with computers, is being considered as important as it was to know writing and reading, long ago. Playing with computers paves the bed for the children to get familiar with computers and grow a sense of closeness toward it. Letting them to play with computers is one fun way for sure, to learn how to deal with it. Of course playing games doesn't teach children how to promote sophisticated computer skills, yet it shows them the fundamentals of it. Take my cousin for instance, dumb as he was being called, turned out to know his way around computers since he was obsessed with computer games. And need in indeed the mother of invention, or in his case the mother of learning.

In short, all the aforementioned reasons and explanations leads to the conclusion that, computer games can be quite beneficial for the children, since they can help children to grow their cognitive abilities. Helping them to get familiar with new technological advancement is of course another reason why children should be allowed to play computer games.