Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Professional athletes, such as football and basketball players, do not deserve the high salaries that they are paid.

In the modern era, sports have become a widespread activity most people are in touch with daily. Although a lot of people enjoy watching these games in their free time, many people think of it as a dream job to become an athlete. The controversial question which arises here is whether the professional athletes deserve the high salaries that they are paid or not. As far as I am concerned, these professional athletes do earn high salaries. The following paragraphs will elucidate my perspective.

First and foremost, the number of high paid athletes are quite a few, and not all the athletes can earn high salaries. Some sportsmen are well-known all around the world, and a lot of people watch games only to follow their favourite athlete. A recent study conducted in Spain suggests that the fans of Real Madrid games, a soccer team based in Madrid, have increased by 20 per cent after Ronaldo, a famous soccer player, joined the club. This study clearly shows not only a professional athlete seems to adherents but also he can affect the number of viewers. Since these top athletes are few, and they lead the games to remarkable moments of every individual’s lives, they deserve those high salaries.

A second noteworthy point to mention is that professional athletes had practiced for many years to accomplish their goals. Becoming a professional athlete is not a commonplace activity. Their career needs consistency and hard work. Generally speaking, they have to keep the requirements of their job in mind all the time. Those athletes have to be aware of what type of food can they eat and what kind of activities are they allowed to do in their pastime. So one can say, the hardships of remaining a great athlete are no less than becoming one.

To sum up, the road of becoming a professional athlete is full of difficulties, and remaining one is no less tricky. Neglecting this fact may lead everybody to believe this career as a banal one. I think that professional athletes deserve the high salaries they are paid. It is universally acknowledged that the hardships a person may come across during his career should have a direct relation with the money he earns.