Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for the government to spend

money on art museums and concert halls than on

recreational facilities such as swimming pools and

playgrounds.

In the modern era, allocating budgets appropriately is an arduous task for every government. Since the needs and desires of citizens of a country can change steadily or gradually, authorities may come across to severe problems to equip each part of society with enough facilities. The controversial question which arises here is whether spending money on art museums and concert halls more critical for government or on recreational facilities such as swimming pools. Although each of them is a very crucial element in society, but I personally go for the second option. There are numerous reasons to support my answer, two of which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First of all, no one can cast a shadow of doubt on the importance of exercising and sports. It is conspicuous that nowadays, a vast majority of people suffer from different illnesses and diseases. A widespread sickness emanates from people’s lifestyles. As most men and women work for long hours a day, mostly behind a computer desk, they need to get enough exercise each day. Take a personal experience as an example. Last year I worked as a member of a research group for a big company. Obviously, my job was a more sedentary one; my back started to bother me from the very first days. So as I continued to work for that company, gradually, my efficiency declined; therefore, I decided to put working out in a local gym into my schedule. The results were extraordinary. After three months, I got a promotion and a raise in salary.

The second indisputable reason to mention is that exercising will provide suitable time to distant from one’s job. It is essential because most people work in big companies which put a lot of responsibility on their shoulders. In these short breaks from working, people can spend time on their health. By this means, not only people will maintain their physical health, but also they can work more efficiently. A recent study conducted in Germany depicts this phenomenon in one sentence. People who work out on a daily basis, get promotions within a company more frequently. In this manner, I believe providing recreational facilities is a win-win choice.

To encapsulate, I cling to the idea that says governments should spend more money on recreational facilities instead of art museums. It is anticipated that, in the near future, most of the big companies will endow large spaces for their employees in the company itself. In this regard, an excellent rapport will form between the company and the employees.