Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Reading is more educational than watching movies or TV.

Education is a very important aspect of our lives. If the person is knowledgeable than he/she is a valuable asset for the society. We should gather knowledge from wherever possible. I do not agree that reading provides more information than watching movies or television. There are some reasons to it which I am going to explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, I believe that watching film or television has more impact on person's mind. The person remembers the information for the longer period of time as compared to the reading. I have personally experienced this difference. I am very fond of watching documentries of famous personalities. I had watched the documentary on Princess Diana long time ago. The film is still fresh in my mind and I remember almost all the details given in it. Although I am habitual of reading novels and informative books, but it does not remain in my memory for the longer period of time. Thus, I can say that watching movies or TV is more preferable way over reading.

Besides this, I think that educating yourself through videos is more entertaining way of gaining knowledge rather than reading. One can watch channels like Discovery or National Geographic to enhance the knowledge on science or history related topic. Additionally, there are many news channels available nowadays that make us aware of events happening around the world. This is more fun way of getting cognizant.

In contrast, reading is boring to many people. It may act as soporific to us. I usually fall asleep while reading. At the same time it takes efforts to remember something that you have read, while watching does not require much efforts to grasp some information and thus an easier way of becoming intellectual as compared to the reading.

To sum up, although both reading and watching films or TV are helpful in enhancing the knowledge, however, I personally believe that second option works better for me.