Do you agree or disagree with the following statements: students learn better when they are not threatened with possible failure. Use reasons and specific examples to support your opinion.

Student learning is one of important process that would favor student to achieve better education. There are several conditions and characteristics that support the effectiveness of learning’s outcome. Sometimes teachers or parents threaten student with the possibility of negative outcome in order to push them achieve higher result. Some people, however, argue that students should not receive this treatment. I personally believe that threatening strategy is not wisely appropriate for motivating students for some reasons.

People have different intellectual and emotional abilities. Such abilities would determine students’ reaction when they face challenges and pressures. Those who posses high abilities on these particular skills would react more calmly and thus able to complete the tasks better than who doesn’t. Students with high intellectual and emotional skills are also better in articulating motivation. They will be able to utilize the pressure as their power to do greater.

Naturally, the way people behave and act are controlled by mind. So when students’ mind is threatened with negative thoughts, the result of their works will probably worsen. People’s mind is also able to either enlarge or limit their true capabilities. So when they think negatively, their true personal capabilities will be limited with its negative thoughts and thus will result poor result.

On the other hand, there are other factors that could favor students to learn better. Open communication is important to help students learn better. Interactive learning will make students become less stressful and thus help them absorb learning materials better. Progress monitoring is also another factor that would help students in better learning process. For example, each student might have one direct mentor/teacher that would monitor his/her performance in class and give personal feedback.

In conclusion, threatening students with negative result would not help students study better because otherwise it may harm their motivation and capabilities. I think communication and mentoring session are the key factors that indeed would favor students in better learning process.