Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Busy parents spend their valuable time with their children in different ways. Some prefer to play games or sport whereas some help their kids to do school related work. I am of the opinion that it is always better to utilize time by helping their kids with homework or school related work. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, school related works are much important and how well children perform in school decides their future career. It is parent's responsibility to make children understand this fact. When parents support kids in school related work, kids will take studies very seriously and try to give full effort to do the same. In contrast, if parents indulge more in fun activities, kids may get confused about what to prioritize in their life. As a working mom, I try to give more attention to my kids school home work and projects and make sure that all the works to school and exam preparations are perfect. As a result, my children understand the importance of higher grade in their academics and they strive to achieve it. When I compare my kids academic performance, they are far ahead of other children. The fact is that their parents hardly find any time to help children with school work.

Secondly, I think kids can have more fun playing with their friends rather than with the parents. kids and parents energy level and area of interest does not match easily ,so to best utilize the time and effort children should be encouraged to play with their age group. I allow my children to play with their friends in all weekends and after the game or sport they are very fresh and energetic. I never try to play sport with my kids because I know that I cannot cop up with their speed and enthusiasm. Rather I utilize all the time focusing on my kids educational activities.Thus my kids are served both in academics and extra curricular activities.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that parents should spend their valuable time in helping kids to do their schoolwork rather than playing games or sport. This is because academic performance of children have to be given much priority and because kids can enjoy sport and fun activities more with their age group.