Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Undoubtedly, teaching and learning are always an important aspect of human binges life. history of human life shows that in all centuries people tried to learn new things from masters who spent his/her lifetime on the specific field such as sailing, astronomy, martial art and other valuable things in their time. Although some people believe that teacher were more appreciated in the past others think that in modern life teacher have more value in society. Nevertheless, in My point of view teacher were more valued in the past societies.

This is very obvious that learning from a teacher was the first and last option and very popular in the past because there were no other ways to learn such as internet, TV, news or other technological devices to use for getting information. Today, students are not relying on teacher and they use lots of material and technology for learning their lessons. For instance, children in Japan use tablet and internet for their lesson and they are not dependent on their teachers. this independency causes them to less appreciate their teacher. And also teacher know that he/ she is just a person who guide students for efficient learning. Recent studies show that students in developed countries are more independent than other countries. This characteristic of students can interact with society view about teacher and cause loose of teaching importance and value.

In the past teaching was one of the best jobs and teacher had a high class-level in society and other people respect teachers because of his/ her knowledge and educational level and other persons were always less educated. This respect during history disappeared because of growing all persons’ educational level in society. Compering megacities with small villages can show this difference in respect to teacher. In small village people like teachers and they have a valuable place in their village.

The other important factor that shows teacher were more appreciated in the past is their salary or their income, which was high in the past. In the modern life other jobs have very high income instead of teacher’s income and financial situation. Although in some countries like Germany the importance of teaching is a lot but in my country teachers are in bad financial situations and they have second jobs like taxi driving and they are not satisfied about their life and jobs which can be effect educational system of country very badly.

in conclusion, the importance of teaching was more in the past than today and today people have less respect to teachers.