Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

At all times, teachers were not only a valuable source of knowledge for people but also provided an excellent support for those individuals who were aimed to enhance socially. Personally, I think that teachers are tremendously important for a modern society. There are a few reasons why I hold this stance.

First of all, from pedagogues, children not only learn about numeracy and literacy but also how to behave appropriately. If a person is respectful, it could be easier for him to establish positive relationships with people. Although parents are responsible for the social education of their little ones, teachers spend a myriad of time with their pupil and can teach them to be polite and courteous with those who around them. My brothers` experience is a compelling example of this. My sibling was an incredibly naughty and rude teenager and since my mother was always too busy working, her time to teach him manners was limited. Fortunately, his school teacher, who was a wise person, stepped in and explained patiently to the teen why his way to treat people could be offensive to them. As a result, after a while, the boy stopped calling his classmates names and even became friends with them. That is why, I believe that these days, teachers are valuable.

Secondly, an experienced teacher can help a learner to achieve his goals. When people learn something new without an external assistance, they often fall to improve since they simply do not know how to study effectively. Despite the opinion, that nowadays, everyone can find a myriad of information on the Internet and advance intellectually, teachers are capable of making this process faster and more efficient. For instance, when I started taking an English test, which comprised of four sections, I kept falling in the speaking one, so I found a professional tutor to help me catch up. In fact, very quickly, the tutor detected my weaknesses, such as pronunciation and fluency, and he provided me with a lot of tips on how to eliminate them. Moreover, he advised me on ways of overcoming anxiety during the test, which affected my overall score dramatically. In this way, when the next time I set for the exam, I was able to achieve the target score. This example illustrates why these days, educators are indispensable for the independent learners.

To conclude, I strongly believe that contemporary society appreciates teachers. This is because they educate young people in terms of social norms and help adults to attain their aims.