It has been said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in

books.” Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience

with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source

is more important? Why?

Books can teach people a lot of important aspects of life. However, personally, I think that expertise obtained from experience is more significant than the one that acquired books. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, books often present only general information, which can help learners to understand basics of a topic but not pivotal details. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I am a pharmacy technician and before I applied for this position, I had read a lot about pharmaceutical management. In this way, I have learned that sometimes insurance companies reject paying for prescriptions of patients, and so employees of retail pharmacies have to resolve such problems. Although I thought that I was preparing well for my future job, at the very first day at the workplace I realized that I did not know how to exactly process claims to insurance companies in a computer system. In fact, it took me six months to get to know how to solve each type of rejections and satisfy my customers. That is why I think that deep knowledge can be obtained only with a real experience.

Secondly, writers are limited by their editors and are allowed to include only a certain number of pages in their books, and therefore, even if they want to fit a myriad of specific information in their works, they cannot exceed the requested amount. For instance, a friend of mine is a journalist and he crafts reportages for a local newspaper. Recently he covered a murder that happened in our small town. I read his article and have found it truly fascinating and informative. However, a few days ago we have talked over a cup of coffee and he mentioned that he has had to drop a lot of details about the crime because his supervisor considered his story unreasonably long. In this way, residents who did not investigate the case themselves, could not learn about crucial circumstances of the murder from the reportage.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that true knowledge could be acquired only from real experience but not from written sources. This is because writers superficially describe topics in their books, and because they often cannot fit all they want to say in an article.