Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment – doing things they like to do – rather than doing things they should do.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The pace of the modern life is immensely fast and in order to succeed people have to spend a lot of time working and studying. Personally, I think that my contemporaries do not devote a myriad of time to enjoyable activities. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, many adults have to financially support their families, and so they spend most of their lives working. If parents just please themselves and do not have a job, they will not be able to provide their children with necessary things such as food and warm place to live. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. My husband and I have twins and in order to raise them properly and pay all our bills, we have to have full-time employment. Moreover, we like to take our kids to entertaining events and help them to form pleasant memories of their childhood. However, visiting such places is expensive and because of this, my spouse works over oftentimes. In this way, we rarely have a chance to meet our friends or play our favorite sports. Although every year we take a trip to a new destination, our vacation time is always limited and we do not rest enough.

Secondly, modern people are busy acquiring education, which is an arduous and long process. These days individuals who want to excel in life have to have a profession that could provide them with a stable income and the respect of society. For instance, I am a foreign pharmacist and in order to start working in my field in the United States, I have to pass numerous tests. Every day after work I study for a few hours. Not only that, but I also practice on weekends. Despite the fact that there are many other occupations are available in this country, I enjoy working in a pharmaceutical sphere and therefore, I endeavor to consistently study to pass my exams. As a result, I do not have an opportunity to devote a lot of time to personal enjoyment and fun activities.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that in contemporary society people are busy and have little time for personal amusement. This is because we have to work hard to support their families and study enthusiastically to acquire a profession.