People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment – doing things they like to do – rather than doing things they should do

Personal enjoyment is what the majority population strives for because human beings are quite egoistic creatures. Being satisfied with what you do is the engine of any activity that people start to do, the anticipated feeling of satisfaction motivates us to do what we do. But some people would say that our environment is usually a determiner and dictator of the things we should do, others will disagree. In my opinion, today, people rather do things they should do for two important reasons.

First, in the modern developing world with constant price increase people have to work a lot to earn enough money to be able to support themselves and their families. An incredibly large number of people have two or even three jobs, which results in the scarcity of time for personal enjoyment. For example, my aunt, who lost her husband a couple of years ago, is a mother of two children, who go to school. She is a very busy business woman and dedicates all the time she has to her job in order to save and feed her family, to make her children happy. She does not want her children to stand out from other children in the school, therefore she has to provide them with good clothing and money for lunch. My aunt complains that she never has a free moment that she can spend for doing her favorite activity – painting. Her unenviable plight shows that today it is not usually possible to do things you like to do.

Second, the word “things” does not necessarily mean that these things are good things, so doing whatever you like sometimes can lead to anarchy. Our world is shared by different types of people and we should not forget that except good people there are the representatives of the other side of the coin – people capable of murder, violence, robbery. I am very happy that I live in the society that is controlled by the government, police and religion. When I was a school student, there was a group, Chomolungma, consisting of people, who found breaking windows of someone’s house, throwing stones at the gates and fences, stealing products from old people who sold them in the streets of the city recreational. These occasions started occurring increasingly often until the inhabitants complained and the police became operational. I think the fate of this grouping was not really nice, most of them ended up in jail. As we can see, even though they liked doing it, there were restricting factors that did not allow them to keep on doing these things.

In conclusion, personal enjoyment today takes a back seat in the world where you do not have time to live your life the way you want due to time deficiency and law restrictions.