In general, people are living longer now. Discuss the causes of this phenomenon. USe specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

A whole range of environmental factors – from ecological to social ones – influences people in their lifetime. In addition to individual biological features, all of them directly affect their vital activity, health, and, ultimately, lifespan. In this essay, three reasons will be considered as a possible explanation for the phenomenon of increased longevity.

First, lifestyle, namely proper nutrition, healthy sleep, sport activities and elimination of bad habits, the most common of which are cigarettes, alcohol drinks and drugs, has a huge impact on longevity. Obviously, this list can be continued infinitely, though the important part here is what measures governments are taking for a healthy lifestyle. Primarily, advertisement which is everywhere. On cigarette packs, there are pictures of people with terrible diseases that cigarettes lead to. On advertising billboards, we observe how a person who eagerly eats a hamburger and chips contrasted to an athlete who drinks water. Consequently, considerable attention is paid to the quality of food; therefore, technological standards for its production are set. Given the above, it can be concluded that governments are responsible for longevity of peoples.

Second, a significant leap in the development of medicine compared with human prehistory has its influence on the increase of the lifespan. It is well known that primitive people did not possess such knowledge and technology that the modern world now owns, as evidenced by the smaller number of diseases that cannot be treated, as well as the lack of epidemics such as smallpox or plague. In addition, the population is vaccinated against such viruses as the flu every year. Otherwise, the body would need the use of medicines, which, in turn, also have a negative effect on other organs, such as the liver, poor functioning of which reduces the lifespan. The longevity of people would not have received growth without high-quality medical support.

Third, thermal power stations, automobile transport, enterprises for the production of zinc, plumbum, mercury have also a large impact on human health. To prevent the accumulation of harmful substances in the body, worsening of the respiratory tract, nervous system disorders, factories are built in areas where people do not live. Incidentally, work is underway to create an electric car, which will not emit harmful substances into the atmosphere polluting the air. Understandably, the better the quality of the environment is, the better human health is; these two indicators are closely interconnected. Living in the fresh air, away from factories and main roads, and also taking care of the state of the environment, contributes to the growth of lifespan.

In summary, possible causes of the phenomenon that people are generally living longer are the correct lifestyle, the development of medicine and the state of the environment.