Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of debates over what governments should spend their money on. Some people believe that public transportation should be the major concern of the governments, others would disagree. In my opinion, governments should invest money in developing and improving Internet access for the following reasons.

First, with the advent of the Internet, people's life have become easier in terms of information access and ways of its obtaining. Obviously, until as late as the Internet appeared in our lives, people had to spend a lot of time in libraries in search of information they needed, read all the materials they found and extract relevant pieces of information. When the Internet was invented, it was slow and it took a lot of time to establish a connection, to wait for a page to load and files to download. For example, when I was a nine-grade school student, I had a lot of subjects to study and all teachers constantly forced us to make reports on a variety of topics. The sheer idea of interacting with the Internet made me furious because I knew that it was slow. But a few years later, our government started funding the Internet improvement, after which doing researches have become a pleasant activity because I did not have to expend a lot of time on it.

Second, the development of the Internet allows many people to work remotely from their homes. Previously, with bad Internet connection, it seemed unrealistic that somebody would be able to do their jobs remotely. Nowadays, it had become possible due to the fact that our government adopt measures designed to enhance the Internet abilities. For example, my brother is a programmer and he works for the famous company, Google, but to see him going out of his home is a rare occasion. This gives him a great opportunity to spend more time with his family. Moreover, he does not have to spend money for commuting around the city to get to his working place, which is another way of saving money. Obviously, besides the opportunity to work remotely, he does not have to be worried about locomotion costs.

In conclusion, wise governmental spendings on Internet access improvement will be only beneficial for people in terms of lowering their expenditure and the ability to work remotely.