Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Distributional issues of governmental budget constitute one of the major commitments of administration since incorrect funding entails serious problems in the future. As for supporting the arts or athletics, some people hold the opinion that their government should maintain Olympic teams. However, I believe that governments should support the arts for several reasons.

First, if a country lacks aesthetic enjoyment such as opera theaters, ballets, cinema, dances and so on, its people are going to become cruel, ignorant and immoral. The point is, as one of favorite writers, Maxim Gorky, said, “the arts humanizes people”, the confirmation of which are beloved fairy tales that teach us to be honest and kind, to tell only the truth, or plays, where compositors were eager to teach people what is good and what is not. If governments support will be directed towards development of the arts, it will be only beneficial for people. For example, in my home city, there was a writer who appealed to public through his plays with pleas to be more humane, to help each other. He used present his masterpieces in the streets since he did not have enough money to perform in theaters, which resulted in lack of audiences and he did not have an opportunity to be heard widely. Several volunteers of the city made a petition for local government in favor of this person to help him bring his thoughts to public. Since the time the government started funding him and his plays are performed broadly, people began to become more kind-hearted, responsive.

Second, existence of good sponsoring of the arts suggests holding such activities as contests, which will make youth become more involved in the arts. These events will stimulate their desire to surpass other people in such battles, which will develop and increase their willpower. My own example is a good confirmation of the point. All my life is a rivalry, competition between me and other people. This started when my parents decided that I would be able to play the violin. Since I was good at playing, my teacher started promoting me to participate in different contests. I used to train myself days and nights, I forced myself to learn and play more, I was able to overcome my desire of sleep. All these skills are still helping because those competitions have become a foundation for my character. Now, I will never give up in the face of fear and I will not care about the preparedness of my opponents.

In conclusion, I strongly believe in the idea that governmental support of art would be only beneficial for people. This is because it prevents them from committing unwanted actions and provides basement for their fortitude and stoicism.