Neighbors are the people who live near us. In your opinion, what are the qualities of a good neighbor? Use specific details and examples in your answer.

The people who live near us can impact our lives significantly. We encounter them on almost a daily basis, so it’s important to have good neighbors. Accordingly, what qualities make ideal neighbors? In my view, they should possess two very important qualities.

The first is respect for others. Most difficulties between neighbors come from a basic lack of respect. If your neighbor respects you, then he will not do many of the things that may bother you. For example, I used to live in a two-story apartment complex. I lived on the second story and my downstairs neighbor had no respect for others. He would have parties at night when most people were trying to sleep. He was also very messy. He left his trash outside of his door and over time it was difficult to walk past his apartment because there was no space. If he had had respect for others, he wouldn’t have been so inconsiderate and such a bad neighbor.

The second quality is friendliness. With a friendly neighbor, it’s easy to develop a good relationship and that positive relationship can make living in your home much more enjoyable. For instance, I remember that when I was in elementary school, my parents would always talk with my neighbors. They would often come over for dinner and bring food. I would often have fun playing games with their kids while our parents talked. If our neighbors weren’t friendly, then we wouldn’t have had such a good experience living in that home.

In sum, few people can affect you as much as your neighbors, so it’s important to live next to good neighbors, which are always respectful and friendly people. Living near these kinds of people will definitely improve your quality of life at home and we should all try to develop these qualities ourselves.