Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long

These days, people spend a lot of time working and the way we do it really matters. Personally, I think that people prefer jobs that are versatile. Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To start with, when workers have many tasks to get done, they are constantly busy, and so their workday goes by fast. On the contrary, if employees are not challenged with many responsibilities, they will feel bored and each of their workdays will seem incredibly long, which is not going to contribute to their well-being. My personal experience is a compelling example of that. I am a pharmacy technician and my job is immensely diversified. While on duty I have to enter new prescriptions in a computer system, count medication, place them in special containers, release drugs to patients, and answer numerous phone calls. In other words, I am continuously busy at work. In this way, I have never felt bored at work, but the intense pace of my job`s routine makes it truly interesting and pleasant for me to work a shift. Since I have found this job, I have always been in a great mood and able to enjoy my life. That is why I believe that various assignments are beneficial for employees.

Secondly, when workers are challenged with a number of responsibilities, they can learn about them in detail and grow professionally. Society appreciates those who are experienced and knowledgeable. For instance, my head pharmacist is a highly professional woman. During her work day, she consults a myriad (a lot of) of patients and resolves hundreds of claims with insurance companies. Because of her expertise, all my co-workers and I have always asked her for advice if we face any problem at work. We know she has a solution for every issue. Furthermore, our customers truly appreciate her and praise her for excellence and dignity. On the other hand, if my supervisor's job had been monotonous and uniform, she could not have been so experienced in her field. A diversified job can help people to excel.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that being assigned to numerous missions at work is better than doing the same tasks all day long.