Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Research is an important part of education. In order to learn, we must be able to find relevant and useful information. Some people believe that the Internet provides the best resource for research. Others disagree. In my view, no source is more powerful for good research than printed material such as books and articles for two key reasons.

First, printed material is much more trustworthy. No source is perfect, but books, magazines, and other similar articles are reviewed by an editor before they are published. Anyone can publish a website at any time for any reason and this person or group can easily hide their identity. However, publishers have to be careful because their reputation is connected with the book. For example, when I was in university I had to do research for a presentation in my physical chemistry class. This presentation demanded a lot of research. My partner and I had to explain a difficult concept to our class. We spent a lot of time online researching. We found a lot of websites that just copied one another and explained things unclearly and sometimes inaccurately. Many people were just trying to develop sites to sell something through this research. The best material online came from sites that copied printed material. Rather than use those sites, we went to the library and found the original articles and many more. Universities we could trust backed the research. This experience taught me that printed material still represents the best source for serious research.

Second, there is much more information available through printed material. We hear everyday that there’s so much data online, but this amount still doesn’t compare to the amount found in books, articles, and magazines. For example, the library that our university had was 11 stories tall. It was filled with books. When I needed to learn about an author for an English assignment, I could find dozens of books on the subject. Each book had hundreds of pages. These books were written by author’s who dedicated every page to exactly the author I was researching. If I looked for similar information online, the only data I found was a few pages on the author’s history or some of his books. It did not compare to the thousands of pages of material available to me in the library. I remember there was a chapter dedicated to a short story he wrote. I couldn’t even find a copy of this short story online because he wasn’t a popular author. As you can see, the Internet cannot compare to printed material in terms of information available.

In sum, books, magazines, and articles are the best sources of research. Not only is the information in these items more trustworthy, but they also offer an enormous amount of information compared to the Internet. Though the Internet may become the best source of research in the future, today, we should all draw most of our research from printed material.