Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No doubt that teachers are one of the most important influenced persons for everyone in society. Therefore, views differ considerably when it comes to the issue of whether teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than today. Some people contend that teachers nowadays have more respect and reputation by society because of their contribution, while others assert that teachers in the past were much respected and admired due to the rarity of ratio. Both of opposite arguments appear to be somewhat convincing and stand to reason. However, my personal experience and actual observation of life have led me to disagree that teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than today.

First of all, modern teachers can make more contributions to society, so teachers are more valued today than in the past. Take Taiwan as an example, nowadays teachers’ contributions are important for society’s economic construction. However, more attractive factors, such as the exotic environment, wages, and teaching system than the past attract teachers to move to another county. Hence, relocation of teachers results in substantially dedications drop of Taiwan.

Nowadays, teachers need to spend more time to be qualified as educators, so they are more appreciated than the teachers in the past. Take my university teacher, Charles, as an example. He is a statistic teacher. Furthermore, because of the rules of the university, he has to be qualified by participating in numerous exams every single year. That is to say, he is adept in his field and stands the test. On the other hand, if he did not pass the test, he would be deprived of the qualification of the teacher. Unlike teachers in the past, they only pass the exam when entering university, and they can get tenure. Accordingly, I believe that teachers are more appreciated today.

Modern students care about their education very much so as to achieve a better future career, so educators are valued a lot by people. For instance, nowadays, students want to gain more knowledge, so they prepare questions to ask teachers. Namely, teachers cannot teach the course without preparing because they face students’ challenges all the time. In other words, if they fail to answer the student’s question, they will not be trusted.

Admittedly, teachers are still respectful by people from the past, so it seems reasonable that teachers are as important now as before. Yet, based on the analyses above, I believe that teachers were more appreciated and valued by society today.