Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Regarding the issue of whether teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are today, different people hold divergent opinions. Some would agree with the statement because they think we have more methods to learn like by the internet, so teacher status has decreased. I partly agree with their notion. However, from my point of view, I contend that teachers are more appreciated by society today than they were in the past.

First, people are more and more aware of the importance of receiving knowledge from teachers. With the development of this fast-paced society, people have more requests to get educated, so the status of teacher has improved a lot. Consider my own experience which can shed some light on this issue. When I was in primary school, many parents of children didn't pay attention to their children's education and just let children play by themselves. On the contrary, nowadays almost every kids are required to learn talents like dancing or sports, and the teachers who have skills in these fields are highly respected and welcomed to hire by parents.

Second, we need learn more skills and knowledge in a short time than in the past so we attach more importance to having a good teacher. It is inevitable for all of us to get many kinds of knowledges from teachers because of the various careers today. Furthermore, the time we need to master the skills are less than in the past or we need face the danger of being eliminated. According to a survey conducted by Wuhan university in 2018, about 40% people today need to learn more skills than a decade ago, and the status of teacher has improved 10%. It is clearly that teachers are more appreciated than in the past.

Admittedly, it is undeniable that we can learn knowledge from other aspects like the internet, but it is always the teachers who teach us new knowledge no matter choosing what methods to study. Thus the significance of teacher is undoubtful.

To sum up, whereas there is an argument that teachers were more valued in the past, namely more learning ways today, more awareness of being taught by teachers, coupled with need of mastering more knowledge in shorter time makes a strong case for the argument that teachers are more appreciated and valued by society nowadays than they were in the past.