Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.Use specific reasons and ex

There is no shortage of debate about whether having a few permanent friends is better for happiness than being able to make new friends quickly or not. In my opinion, the latter is a better choice. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, being able to make numerous friends easily means having more opportunities when it comes to our career choices. These opportunities might help us find jobs that are more suitable to us, and this might lead us towards a happier life. My sisters experience is a compelling example of this. She is a friendly, calm person that is capable of making many friends in short time. 2 years ago, she used to work at a job that she didn't enjoy at all. One day, one of her friends told her about a job opening at a company that she always wanted to work at. Nowadays, she has a job that she really enjoys going to everyday. She lives a happier life, thanks to her many friends. For this reason, I think that being able to make new friends with ease is a better ability than retaining few friendships for a long time.

Secondly, getting to know many types of people might eventually help us understand people more easily. A person that has a lot of friends in their life gets to develop a crucial skill that is important for happiness in life, which is being able to get along with a lot of different people. This skill might lead to better friendships and less frustration when dealing with people, and help us converse with them in a better, more efficient way. This might lead us towards a happier life. For instance, one of my teachers had this ability. He could simply get along with almost anyone. He was friends with pretty much everyone in the school. He became a therapist and now he lives a happy and prosperous life. He even has a wife and three kids.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that making many friends with ease is of great importance when it comes to happiness. This is because these friends might help us find new opportunities and the time we've spent with many different people might help us gain more experience when it comes to dealing with people.