Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.Use specific reasons and ex

Despite the age, everybody needs friends. Most people are for the opinion that in order to be happy, you should be able to easily connect with strangers and make new friends. However, in my opinion, the depth of your friendships is what determines your happiness, not the quality of being an outgoing person nor the number of your friends. There are few reasons for this claim which I will elaborate on in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, we should first consider the real meaning of the word friend. Not all the people you talk to or laugh with can be counted as your friends. A real friend is who always stays by your side in happiness and sadness and never let you feel alone or let you down while struggling with life issues. I can firmly state that it is very difficult to find these people. Hence, easily making friends, seems like a meaningless statement to me. To illustrate, I can recall one of my friends who is a social, outgoing person. She has gathered numerous people around her and you can never observe her alone. Although she is laughing all the time, I know that she feels extremely alone and unhappy.

Besides, each person who enters your life brings a handful of new problems with her. These days, everybody has various issues and a limited time to solve them and it is impossible to ignore your friends' difficulties. Hence, their problems will be added to yours and achieving happiness will get harder. For instance, my mother has a lot of friends and spends a huge amount of her time helping them solve their problems that she doesn't have enough time to focus on her own life. I know better than anyone that she is far away from being happy.

In summation, we should first review the meaning of friendship and our expectations from a friend. Happiness derives from deep friendships. Not every new friend can make you happy, instead, they bring new issues to your life. I suggest everyone focus on their close friends and allocate their time to their beloved ones rather than searching for new friends.