Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

To remain happy and optimistic when you fail is more

important than achieving success.

Throughout history, humanity has been perpetually concerned with the routes to success. Since competition has been enhanced dramatically in the modern era, this concern has been made heated debates among different kinds of people. Some specialists might argue that achieving success is more critical than remaining happy and optimistic. I, on the contrary, hold a different view. In the following paragraphs, I will illuminate my standpoint with a vivid image and elaborate on my reasons regarding this issue.

First and foremost, no one can cast a shadow of doubt on the importance of mental health in every aspect of life. To put it differently, the more people suffer from mental illnesses, the more their efficiency in work time reduce. Take a personal experience as an example. A few years back, I started to work as an English teacher in an elementary school. The pressure on my shoulders was uprising daily because parents always wanted more progress from their children, and they blame me for that matter. In the climax of predicaments, I went to see a psychologist, and he told me to spend more time relaxing in my apartment. The results were extraordinary. After one month, I was back on track, and parents started to like me even more than before.

Furthermore, one should not underestimate the fact that if you lose control when you are in the trenches, you may face irreversible losses. Failures won’t end. In the introduction of a book that I recently read, there was a saying from Falkner. “no one should neglect the significant impact of sorrow in the way to triumph.” This saying meticulously depicts anyone should embrace sorrow and exert it well to reach to his desires. I want to juxtapose sorrow with happiness. Both of them are emotional reactions to one’s surroundings. In this regard, I think people should persistently retain their satisfaction and optimistic viewpoint.

To encapsulate, I cling to the idea that says remaining happy and optimistic in times of difficulties is more important than achieving success. However, that was a story in a nutshell. Protecting one’s happiness is a remarkable act that needs experience and concentration. All in all, isn’t it true that whenever we lose, we don’t have the courage to start over for an extended period? Maybe we can only minimize the length of this period.