Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Communication between the group while performing any kind of work is substantial for producing productive results. This is because with every one chipping in, new and creative ideas can easily generate. However, the debate on which type of communication - e-mail or face to face- holds supremacy, can be a conflicting one . If I were to choose, I would definitely agree with the superiority of personal communication over electronic mail, for producing better results. I feel this way for several reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, not every thing can be clearly transmitted through electronic mail. To be more specific, the only means of exchanging ideas in e-mail is by writing, and this may not be sufficient every time. Effective communication occurs not only when ideas are simply exchanged, but it also requires transmission of personal feelings, emotions and some complex ideas that cannot be exchanged in text. I have to admit that my own opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. You see, during my college days, we used to have group assignments on sociology classes, which required inputs from everyone. Unfortunately, once, I suffered from intense fever and was on a complete bed rest. So, I was not able to attend one of our group assignments, which required video making on the topic " farmers and innovative technologies". Even through my sickness, I decided to provide my inputs through e-mail. I developed a very creative idea of filming a drama video of farmers along with sound effects and pictures, all depicting the before and after effects of technologies on farmers life. My group mates liked this idea and went along with it. However, since I was not there to personally overlook the process we suffered from mis-communication and my team ended up downloading a video from the net and presenting it. As a result, we could not do our best and ended up getting bad grades. For this reason, e-mail communication will not always be able to produce the best results.

Secondly, e-mails may not always be accessible, which will create the need of personal communication. Certainly, today's world is technologically advanced and sending e-mails may not be an issue for all of us. However, there are still a lot of places where this form of information exchange is either absent or not prevalent.Drawing from my own experience, two years ago, I was sent to a remote village during mu internship, where I was assigned the job of collecting local ideas on sustainable farming practices. The participants, with whom I had to interact used to live in distant places and the most effective way of doing my job was by asking them to sent their ideas through mails. To my dismay, although everyone had a personal computer, but still none of them knew how to sent mails. So, my only option was to personally visit them and collect that info. It's certainly clear to see why personal communication holds superiority over e-mails.

In light of the above mentioned reasons, I strongly belief that a project can produce more better results only through person to person contact.