Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of working either fewer days for lengthy hours or more days of short hours. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely choose to work lesser days for longer hours. Personally, it is my firm belief that fewer workdays are better for a number of reasons, and I will develop those ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, one must travel to office and return home at the end of the day. These eat up a good portion of the day, especially when the office is far from home. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. One of my job-place took 2 hours to reach. I had to spend 4 hours of my day just on the road. Effectively, my 8 hour job became 12 hour job. You see if I had the opportunity to work longer to make up the work hours in three days, I would definitely work in very lengthy hours to avoid the traveling time loss. As a result, my traveling time in a week would have come down from 20 hours to 12 hours. That is a whole day of work! For this reason, I think it is a better idea to work lesser days for prolonged hours.

Secondly, one will get the opportunity to do important personal works on more number of days. If there is only 2 free days in a week, all of the personal works must be scheduled in these 2 days. So one will hardly find a day to rest. But, if there were 4 free days, I will definitely get the opportunity to rest and schedule personal work sparsely in those 4 days. Drawing from my experience, my bother had 2 workdays each of the duration 18 hours. He had plenty of time to rest and do other stuff easily. But, one of my friends had 6 workdays each required 6 hours. In spite of both having the same weekly workhour, my friend hardly had any time to do personal stuffs. Moreover, my friend had to get involved in work and travel every day, which didn't let him rest enough. It is certainly clear to see why more workdays are disadvantageous.

In light of the above-mentioned reasons, I personally support 3 work days for longer hours.