Should the university education be free? Give your reasons and examples?

The debate on whether or not university education should be free of charge holds a wide range of opinions. Nowadays, many are adamant that a myriad of elements should be taken into consideration before analyzing the positive and negative facets of this issue. Some people argue that making university cost free would instead backfire on the performance of the student while others disagree for their own reasons. However, from my vantage point, I concur with the former group and aver that making education cost free is not a good idea. In the paragraph below, I'll be justifying the reasons for my belief.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that when universities are free of cost then the quality of graduates will certainly decrease. This is because, one of the main reasons students compete and be the better version of themself is so that they can get scholarships or fee waivers in their higher education. Hence, when we take away this motivating factor they may feel no need of being a dilligent and hard-working student. A vivid example which can be given to shed light on this subject is one of my own personal experience. It'll not be an exaggeration to say that may be the only reason i worked hard at every educational institute I attended was the need of securing scholarships. Since I belonged to a poor family, this was the only way I could fund my education and I'm pretty sure if education was free in my country then I would have never been an arduous student. This example clearly shows why educational institute schould charge their fees.

Secondly, another reason which deserves some words to say is that not every country can afford making universities free. For instance, my country Nepal is one of the poorest one in the South Asian region. It is quite obvious that when education cost are null they have to be funded by the government of that country. And in my country there are far more substantial problems like food insecurity which need far more attention than making universities free of cost. As a result, we can see why universities cannot be made free.

Lastly, although the aforementioned reasons were the first one which cross the mind, they are by no means the only reasons available. In fact there is another subtle point which deserves some words to say. Free universities will not be able to provide the best education they can. By way of example, in my neighbourhood there was a very reputed private school. It had the best teachers, the best results and the best products. Needless to say it was quite expensive. However, last year it went bankrupt and was appropriated by the local government and converted into a community school that was free for all. Though it was still the same school, the quality of education was not. It no longer could afford hiring the best teachers, good quality materials and eventually the outputs were also below par. So, we can see how making education free ia bad idea.

To wrap it up, contemplating all foresaid reasons, one can easily realize the importance of money charged by the universities.