"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

The provided argument is based on an experiment conducted among 18 rhesus monkey, to find the effects of birth order on the levels of stimulations and the generated results are speculated to be applied on human conditions. Though, the generated results may seem promising, still the conclusion derived is based on a lot of unwarranted assumptions and unless, they are shored up with enough evidences, the argument can easily be refuted.

First of all, it is possible that the experiments were conducted in a completely singular, isolated laboratories and such results have no semblance in the natural wild. Under such conditions the conclusion derived may not hold water, this is because it cannot be guaranteed that similar isolated ambiance may be found in the nature and the “promising” results so obtained, were not because of scientific inputs but simply because of the isolation created in the laboratory. Similarly, the argument falsely assumes that the sample population of the eighteen monkeys or Rhesus species of monkey can be used to extrapolate derivations of the entire rhesus species or the entire monkey kingdom. It is possible that the sample size so chosen, was among the best, well fed, strong rhesus species who had superior genes and the results obtained may not be seen in other rhesus species. Additionally, Can it be generalized that the stimulating behavior seen in one species of monkey, speaks about the entire monkey kingdom? Under such faulty assumptions, the conclusion derived can be suspected to be specious. The scientist should provide additional evidences that bridges the gap between the sample size and the population and shows that the results obtained is representative of entire population.

Secondly, the conclusion compares behavior seen in monkey with humans, more specifically, first born monkeys and first born humans. However, without additional evidences that this two different species exhibit similar stimulating behavior under similar inputs, the conclusion can easily be denied. It is true that evolutionary speaking, monkeys are the closet relative of human, but it is possible that all the characteristic exhibited by monkeys need to be shown in similar fashions by humans. Also, the arguments talks about the birth order comparison in between “eighteen” monkey infants and the result of first-born is juxtaposed with humans, but a question can easily be asked, if the results obtained from eighteen infants can be compared to human infants. This is because it is hard to find a human family with eighteen infants and under such circumstances, it is may be hard to justify similar occurrence in human. So, to make the conclusion, more concrete the scientist should provide additional evidences that show the occurrence of similar results in humans.

Finally, in the end the arguments compares the cortisol production of first born infants and first time mother monkey. The argument fails to provide additional evidence to show that the steps taken in measuring the level of cortisol production was completely impeachable. It is possible that some mistakes were made and the level of cortisol production after the 19th infants and let’s say, third time mother may be further more than that of the above mentioned. Under such conditions, Will the conclusions still hold water? Also, the stimulating condition, so described are providing an paradox within themselves. The condition used in monkey’s case is an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey while in human case is an encounter with their own parents after some time. Can this two conditions be considered similar? Of course not, in the absence of additional information proving their similarity, this two different conditions cannot be considered to be the same and extrapolations cannot be derived from them. Hence, the researcher should provide additional supporting evidences to make his conclusion seem worthy.