Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a lot of changes happened in the belief and attitude of our young generation when compared to the young generation of the past. Many people probably think that young people these days find more time to involve in social activities than people in the previous decade. In my opinion however, people these days do not have much time to spend for community services due to a variety of reasons.

First of all, young generation is living in a stressful environment which does not provides him time to spend for any other services other than helping himself. In the past, life was more easy whereas these days people are very tensed because of the rising competition in the work environment. it is true that our budding generation has become workaholic and very competitive. My own life is a great example of what I mean. I work in a multinational company where my salary is based on my performance. To produce results I have to dedicate around eight to ten hours minimum in front of my computer daily. Apart from my work, I have many more responsibility as a mother and a wife. So, it is almost impossible me to spend time for any kind of social work even though I really want to involve in those activities.

Secondly, young generation are becoming more and more self oriented focusing own their own priorities. Most of the people prefer to involve in frivolous entertainment rather than finding time for others. In the aforementioned example of my life, I utilize my days off from work to enjoy with my family. We go for short vacations and shopping which rejuvenate all of us. Although these activities are necessary for a happy life , it was my selfishness that I do not utilize any time to involve in some kind of community activities. It is true that I am a very busy person, but does not mean that it is totally impossible for me to find time if I really want. Thus, It is the self orientation that makes young generation run out of time to help others.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that young generation of these days do not have time to involve in social activities to help communities. This is because these days young people are very busy with their own work life, and because most of them have become self centered.