Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

Group projects have been a kind of work that almost everyone will take someday in the future no matter which field you dive in, therefore, it has been attached more and more attention and many high schools and universities are going to require students to finish several group projects to get credits of courses, which leads to a heated discussion, how to give every member of a group score in a more sensible way. Some professors give a group of students the same score based on the overall performance. However, from my perspective, it is not a sensible way since it can’t evaluate students’ performance fairly and may have bad effects on their future work.

What must be prioritized is that the score, acting the role of evaluating students’ academic performance, is important in today’s education. The more fair and more accurate the scores students get, the more they benefir from it, instructing them to improve themselves. To begin with, there is no doubt that different students make different efforts in their projects even though working as a group. Some members devote themselves to the project, spending over 10 hours a week in discussing and researching while other members spend over 10 hours a week playing their computer games, leaving what they ought to do on others’ shoulder. It is unfair to give those two kinds of students above the same score; in contrast, students are going to have a semse of being treated equaly, which benefits their mental health.

What should be equally worth discussing is that grading members of a group the same score is going to foster an inappropriate idea of how the society evaluates their work when they are working in a group. To begin with, it is going to decrease students’ enthusiasm in contributing to a group project as much as they can. We can imagine how frustrated a student will be when he gets a bad grade after fighting for a group day and night without anybody in his group joining in and helping him, which is not an exaggerate but a true case I have been through.

Giving a score without observing different quantities of work done be different members is supposed to frustrate them while boosting those people who haven’t contributed a little, giving them an ridiculous sense of how easy to get an acceptable score. It seems to concentrate too much on the result, giving scores based on the overall performance rather than paying enough attention to what they are doing which is a more advisable attitude towards work from my perspective.

Fairness of scores marked individually gives students the appropriate evaluation on their work. A reasonable notion to the cooperation, which can be helped to cultivated by adopting a more advisable method to give scores rather than grading a score to all members of a group benefiting students’ future career. In a nutshell, giving members of a group the same score is certainly an inappropriate method and there must be other ways to give scores more reasonable.