When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

During the period of the pandemic, more and more works are turned into an online mode in which group members, like classmates and colleagues, have to communicate most of the information by email. Some people doubt the efficiency to communicate by email and state that group members will produce better work for a project if they communicate in person instead of by email. From my perspective, I agree with the idea because I consider that communicating in person leads to a high-quality discussion, contributing to both observing problems and generating brilliant ideas which determine the quality of a project together.

Firstly, communicating face to face helps people to identify problems in the project by expressing opinions more comprehensively. To begin with, it is easier for people to pay attention to questions asked in face-to-face communication rather than from a long email. Even a video meeting performs a better job in exchanging opinions than email. For example, I once conducted an interdisciplinary project online when covid-19 broke out. In the beginning, we just communicated by email and it seemed that everything went well. However, it was a video meeting that unveiled a huge problem: everyone just understood the goal from their own perspective and we hadn't reached an agreement about it among us. Furthermore, we found that what incurred this consequence was the difficulty to express one’s view completely within only a few words in the email. In the contrast, a video meeting can encourage us to express more comprehensively, disclosing potential misunderstandings. This experience made me realize the importance of in-person communication.

Secondly, discussing in person contributes to the generation of new ideas. It is known that people express their thoughts in various ways except for words. Facial expressions and body languages convey plentiful information as well as make the discussion more vivid than those bland emails. Therefore, members presenting in the in-face discussion will be more engaged in the discussion, which fertilizes the generation of excellent ideas. The examples mentioned above also gave me a vivid education about this point. When my university was open again, we scheduled to have meetings offline every week, which were treasurable times in my college life. We exchanged our ideas actively, drawing and coding with passion together. This immersing atmosphere bred some brilliant ideas which cannot be explained in a few words, helping us get the scholarship at our university.

Admittedly, writing emails gives people more space to clarify their thoughts. Nevertheless, it can be done by writing work diaries. Moreover, we cannot ignore the role that communicating in person plays in clarifying thoughts as well which makes in-person communication more irreplaceable.

To conclude, I hold the opinion that communicating in person performs a better work for a preject than the email.