People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who focus on one skill only.

Skills, expertise helping us accomplish jobs, are developed throughout our lives and the process to master a certain skill usually consumes considerable time and energy. Therefore, some people hold the view that focusing only on one skill is better than cultivating different skills for people who want to succeed. However, I disagree with this idea and vehemently cling to the view that people are supposed to develop many skills on the way to success. I will explain the detailed reasons in the following paragraphs.

What should be prioritized first is that one person needs to take up different roles according to his position in the relationship. Being a father, he is required to learn how to educate his baby, helping him to grow healthy; being a coder, programming skills come the first absolutely; being a team member, he needs to develop interpersonal skills, exchanging his thoughts with others freely. There, people have to develop different skills to live in the net of relationships. On the contrary, you may feel lonely, just like an island in the sea, if only concentrating on solely one skill. After a long time, depression and anxiety would take up the place of happiness, driving you to a frustrating destination.

Secondly, you still need to develop diverse skills to be more successful even if just focusing on the work in the company. It is known that interdisciplinary expertise and skills are attached to great importance today since solving a real problem thoroughly requires people to break down the wall between different subjects. One of my teachers had introduced a vivid example before. He had a classmate majoring in physics at the university. In addition to examining those physics theories and experimenting, he also developed programming skills synchronisly. When he furthered his study in the UK, he invented software to deal with the data gained by the scanning telescopes, visualizing the data. He gained a.reputation after realizing his goal and made a lot of money by teaching others to use the software. And then he built a company, maintaining the software and providing comprehensive help. Expertise to manage a company was needed to organize the company and he dared to develop this skill quickly, running the company well.

It's admitted that we can't develop all skills at once, but we can develop them one by one referring to our needs rather than limiting ourselves to only one skill.

To conclude, I believe that developing diverse skills contribute more to a successful life compared with just cultivating a single skill.