It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

It’s known that it is a period of rapid pace and tons of events are happening in the world when I am writing this essay and we have access to know most of them easily and conveniently thanks to the internet. Under this circumstance, some people hold the opinion that knowing what is happening around the world is important to today’s people while others regard it as a waste of time. From my perspective, I am in favor of the first one since getting in touch with international news can open our minds and help us determine what we want to dive into in the future.

Firstly, it is a wonderful meaning to broaden our horizons by knowing events happening over the world. To begin with, when we are trying to know what is happening in the world, it is inevitable to be exposed to cultures from other countries, like different habits of food and costume styles. It is a treasure for us to have a picture of how people from other countries communicate and what other countries are like before traveling abroad. Besides, knowing events happening elsewhere can cultivate a cross-culture notion in our mind, encouraging us to consider more carefully and internationally when we face multi-culture problems in work, helping us avoid making some critical mistakes.

Secondly, knowing what the outside world is like can help us mature faster and determine the fields we are willing to be occupied in the future. What should be mentioned is that some youngers living in a developed country may hold a partial understanding of the world. They like to waste time and money on drinking and gambling since they consider that there is no need for them to make efforts. However, if they have seen those homeless children hanging on the pumped road with worn clothes, they are supposed to realize how lucky they are and be galvanized to study and work harder to improve the world. Furthermore, knowing events from the world is supposed to help us know the trend of the world, determining a more promising field to devote ourselves to.

Admittedly, information from the internet contains too many things irrelevant to us. Searching and finding those worthy of reading costs a lot of time. Besides, irrelevant information is indeed likely to distract us, wasting our time. From this aspect, trying to know events happening in the world is a waste of time.

However, I believe that knowing events happening in the world has more benefits than harms. Maybe it costs time today, but it is going to open your mind and contributes to your promising career.