Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at a young age.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

From my perspective, an adult can't be regarded as a mature adult until he/she is capable of being responsible for his/her finance, and a sensible/reasonable/desirable/advisable mindset of money, which should be established as early as possible, is critical to the building of responsibility in one's mind. So I agree with the idea that children should learn to manage their own money at a young age.

First of all, becoming financially responsible adults is a long process in which we need to practice in person and gain valuable experience by mistakes. I have met one roommate who hasn't possessed his own money before or had an idea about how much a student needs to spend in living. For this reason, he often struggles with how to manage his money in case of being incapable of paying for his daily expense. Consequently, his financial state is disorganized, which, furthermore, causes his failure in his academic performance. If he had learned about how to manage his money, he would be more sensible with his money so that he would accomplish his academic goal on time.

Secondly, children have more chances to make mistakes when building their own views and skills to be responsible for their finance. Everyone has their own background and characteristics, so theories and skills told by others may not be suitable for them. Therefore, learning from practicing on their own is the best way for a person to gain the capability to manage his finance, . And it is advisable that they learn at an early stage because the cost incurred by making mistakes when they are young is controllable and easy to be remedied, especially with the supervision and guidance of their parents, and the children can be prevented from doing something devastating.

Admittedly, learning about the knowledge of financial management may put some stress on children, but we can still teach them by some interesting means such as introducing them to educational TV shows and instructional games. Children will gain long term benefits from those essential skills.

In a nutshell, I hold that children should learn to manage their own money at a young age.