Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at a young age.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Financially management is one of the important lesson that everyone should learn in their lives. Many people state that we should learn it as soon as possible, even we are at a young age. However, in my point of view, I think it is too fast to learn while we have little knowledge about the world and society.

First and foremost, It is too difficult for children to learn managing their money. Especially at the age of counting one to a hundred, how can they actually have a basic concept of money? For example, when I was in elementary school, the painting class ask us to buy the tool at store. All I understand is buying thing that needed in class, not figuring out what my parents bought me a complete set of painting toolkit. Even when I was in junior high school, I just cannot well understand the thing I had bought is expensive or not, let alone the children younger than me.

Secondly, children are too busy to learn so many subjects, so the priority of this is not that important. In Taiwan, we have to learn a lot of subjects, including Chinese, math, society, science, English before high school. After graduating junior high, the subjects even increase, and the workload becomes heavier. In addition, some of children still have to learn skill like piano, dancing, or other interest they like after class, so there is no time for them to learn money management which have no direct effect to their near life.

Lastly, children's lives are so simple that there is no so many thing that they need to buy. That is, managing their money have no use in their lives. For example, most of children's lives are starting with going to school, learning, going back home, and finally sleeping. If their parents give them money, they have little chance to spend it and finally wasting it on things that they do not really like. So it is more suitable to start learning it when they have more chance to spend money, like in college, so they can actually learn the trade of between what they need and what they want.

In conclusion, I disagree the point that children should learn to manage money at a young age, because it is too early to learn the skill in that situation, when they cannot easily understand the concept of the management and the importance of responsibility.