Tpo15 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement In order to become financially responsible adults children should learn to manage their own money at young age Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Not many children seem to have their parents' trust when it comes to managing their own assets, especially time and money. Somehow I am grateful this was the case for the young me. Ever since I was a primary student, my parents have allowed me to have the control of my own things including money. I believe that was the key to growing into an adult who is financially responsible.

First of all, by having the permit to own and use money at a young age, children have the chance to grasp the concept of money and learn its value. Although practice of exchanging money bills on a daily basis can be confusing for young kids at first, this is exactly where they can learn how such "valuable pieces of paper" works. As children get accustomed to actually using money in real life, their understanding of money will be improved, which is also the rudimentary foundation from which children will get better in handling financial situations in the future. I have learned this fact from my own experience. When I was a first grader, my mom would give me an amount of allowance every day and I could decide how I wanted to spend it. At that time, I already know how to use money to buy my breakfast, yet it still felt fascinating to use money in my own way. After a year or so, I had learned the general prices of my daily purchases and could predict the prices of other similar items based on my little knowledge of finance. I am now confident whenever I purchase something since I have got the financial instinct inside me that have been built up for almost two decades.

Moreover, as naive as all children are, managing their own money feels like a stimulated family game in which they can actually learn to handle the amount of money they've got. When children are let independent with their budget, they tend to develop mental financial plans for how they want to use their money. This regular practice of saving and spending is like a workbook whose ultimate goal is to teach children to be responsible with every coin or bill they have. This reminds me so much of my old days. Every Lunar New Year, my friends and I would receive lucky money from our family and relatives. However, unlike my friends who had to give their lucky envelops to their parents because they thought kids couldn’t keep money, I was allowed to keep and do whatever I wanted with the money I had. Meanwhile my friends had no clue how much money they had received and what that amount of money could do, I had a whole vision of how my lucky money would be spent. I remember having a list of things I wanted to get and how much I had to save as well as how much lucky money would be allocated to each item. Now that I’m looking back, it is incredible how I have been able to do all that on my own ever since I was a little girl! Parents would never know how much their kids can learn through controlling their own budget.

All in all, although I am not sure if my old friends who were not allowed to take care of their own money have grown up to be responsible with their money now, I am sure children who are in charge of their own budget will become great managers of their own financial accounts. This is because through the use of money from the young age, they have gained so much experience as well as appreciation for each number of money they earn.