Do you agree or disagree? It is more important for people to watch or read news presented by others who hold different views than by others who hold similar views.

In these days, there are many mutual misunderstandings between conservative people and liberal people. Nowadays, people usually acquire news from social media such as Facebook, which often displays liberal press to the people who have progressive ideas, and vice versa. However, I agree with the statement, that obtaining news from people that hold different views is more important than getting news from others who hold similar opinions, and I will show that my idea is reasonable by discussing below two points, -- people can understand the world without bias, and people can find better way to solve problems.

First, people may understand more correctly by accessing the information they may overlook if they access to diverse views of the problem. People who only read the news from the people who hold similar opinions will always have a biased understanding of the situation. And this bias can cause severe mistakes in decision making. The most obvious example is the Japanese people in World War 2. In that time, almost all the media in Japan was controlled by the Japanese government, and they didn’t report the actual situation of the war. Therefore, many Japanese people believed that the Japanese army broke the American military many times. On the other hand, some Japanese people could read English and access to foreign media, could figure out the actual situation of the battle, and they could predict that Japan would lose earlier. This is an extreme example. However, reports can be biased or amended by pressure, or even belief of the writer. And, if you keep reading that news that contains many types of opinion, even if they are not in line with your own idea, you can figure out the world more correctly.

And secondary, people may find a better solution to the problem by acquiring news presented by others who hold a different view. You can adopt those different opinions, and also, you can find a better way to solve problems. If you only read the news written by someone who has similar views as yours, such reading only reinforces your internal viewpoint, and you will lose a chance to discover better solutions. Broadening other people’s points of view through reading different opinions, people can obtain better ideas and avoid being conservative or biased.

In conclusion, sometimes we have to read similar views to support my point of view and find your companions. However, by reading different ideas, you may understand the situation or structure of the problem better, and you may find a better idea than your original opinion. Therefore, I definitely agree with the statement that it is much more critical for people to absorb news from others who hold different views than from the people who contain similar viewpoints.