Do you agree or disagree with the statement? When leading a group, most people talk while others listen. But best leaders always spend more listening others' ideas.

A good leader ship plays an important role in a successful company. However, what is the distinctive characteristic for a leader to have? There is controversy on rather leaders should speak more and others listen or the leaders should listen more to others. In my opinion, leaders should definitely listen more to others.

First of all, leaders can learn by listening to others. To be more specific, every single person has their own opinion, and there is not a correct answer. Therefore, when leaders listen to others, they can learn a same thing in a different point of view. Take me as an example, there is one time that I have a school project need to be done with my group, and since I am the leader, I make all of the decision by myself. However, after I made the decision, one of my group member told me that there is some mistakes in those decisions. Therefore, we started another group discussion. This time, I listen to the other members in my group and I find out that there are some points that I had never thought about before. As a result, by listening to the group members can help leaders understand something in a different angle.

In addition, leaders can have a better understand about their group members when they listen to them. When people are describing their thought, leaders will be able to carefully listen to them and know what they are actually think. For example, my dad is a manager in the company, and he always need to handle some meetings. During the meeting, he will listen to everyone’s idea. By doing this, he can manage the company better because he knows that what every single person thinks. On the other hand, if leaders do not listen to others, how can they figure out what is his group members thinking? Moreover, it will cause more conflict during the discussion. To sum up, in order for leaders to have a better understand of their group members, leaders need to listen to their ideas.

Undoubtedly, some people may say that it is better for leaders to speak more because leaders always have a better opinion. However, I think that leaders are not always correct. Therefore, they should listen to other people’s idea in order to make a better decision and lead to a better result.