Do you agree or disagree? A teacher's ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught.

Some people believe that a teacher is worthy only when a teacher posses a great knowledge of the subject they teach because unless a teacher is proficient in its field, the teacher will not be able to convey proper knowledge to the student. However, I strongly disagree to the above statement. Infact, I believe that a teacher should be focused on the students rather than being expert of the subject for the following two reasons.

First of all, focusing on students is more important than having detailed knowledge of the subject because a teacher's primary job is to make sure all the students understand what is being taught. Sometimes a simple subject become tougher for the subject though it is being taught by the doctorate. For example , In college I had a subject theory of computation and it seemed really hard to me though the teacher held a doctorate in theory of computation. Then, I went to other teacher who very friendly with students and he taught me so well that I started liking the subject. On the other side if the teacher focuses only on the content teaching oblivious of students ability to grasp the content then there is no use of teaching. So, a teacher's involvement with the student is more important.

Secondly, focusing on students will attract student towards studies because teacher's attention towards student will result in attention of the student towards studies which will lead to higher score. For instance, there was a boy in my class who used to fail in mathematics, he didn't understand mathematics at all even after being taught by highly qualified teacher. Then , he joined coaching , there the sessions were so interactive that at the end of the semester he scored 90 percent score. Thus, it is because of the teachers attention the boy was able to score good marks in the examination.

Thus ,the ability of teacher is analyzed on the basis on how well they interact with a student, only possessing bookish language won't suffice to be a good teacher.