Do you think that students today are more interested in politics than in the past?

With the rapid changes of the current generation, people nowadays their lifestyle is different from the past one. Especially for the student’s involvement of politics, it is quite ironic that students in the past indeed feel more indifferent to politics, however, nowadays students spend much more time on politics than before, below are some reasons why I think so.

Firstly, due to the rise of the Internet and the social media, there has been lots of cyber celebrities, youtuber and netizen comes out, making good use of their popularity and use those network platform to make many different kinds of video contents from politics to entertainment and so on, moreover the products of those new media let students get to know more about politics in more various and attractive ways than the traditional media can do.

Secondly, the changes in social and educational atmosphere indeed had potential influence on student’s thinking toward politics. Nowadays many educators try to focus more on political aspect, and start to teach students to voice their opinions and share their perspectives on some political issues what’s more, the more schools and society teach students, the more political knowledge students understand.

Finally, the globalization. It is clear that in modern society countries from all over the world has started to have close relationships with other countries, such as the trade, politics, or entertainment aspects in order to reinforce the strong bonds between countries. Because of this reason we can easily get access to foreigners and increase the global cooperation, therefore students may be intrigued by the globalization of their own countries then have the desire to know more about the politics.

In short, with the rapid development of our nearby environment I think students are somehow influenced by the atmosphere, and feel more interested in politics than in the past.