During the long break school terms, should the university require students to learn another course that is not in their field, or require them to do a volunteer project?

Extra courses or volunteer projects are fascinating and of great essential from my perspective with which students can widen their knowledge and adapt themselves to the development of the society as well. I am going to elaborate it in the following paragraphs.

First of all, the experience of volunteering can narrow the gap between students and the society as well as helping students grasp good communication skills. Normally, communication and cooperation are necessary during a volunteer projects even though the participants aren’t quite skillful at the beginning. Nevertheless, it will be a quick and easy access for students to acquire the ability to communicating and cooperating with their partners after several days of volunteering. Thus these kind of projects are really beneficial.

In addition, these extra courses and projects can be a way to enrich the teaching and learning methods. It is known to all that Chinese education system concentrates more on exam-oriented one rather than all-rounded development. Therefore, after years of rote learning, graduates can not adapt to the society in a short time. However, by taking part in those activities, students are able to not only make their comprehensive knowledge down-to-earth but also enrich social and living experience, gaining solid professional working experience at the same time. In that case, after several years when they are applying for a job, this experience will add extra points to your resume, increasing the possibility of success.

It is said that traveling is better than reading sometimes on account that people can broaden their horizons and become more insightful after attending social activities like volunteer projects. So that universities ought to separate students from just reading and learning in the classroom, setting them to different places all around the world to live a life.

Sometimes students have their own interests but they do not have enough time to develop them. An extra course during the long break school terms can be a optimal chance for these students to learn their interests. As for those students who are thought to be lazy, these extra courses can also motivate them to make full use of their time to make themselves out of lazy men.

To sum up, learning another course that is not in their field or doing a volunteer project is indispensable in education fo all-round development.