At the end of the Triassic period 200 million years ago, there was a mass-extinction event that caused the extinction of more than half of all living species. It was this extinction event that allowed dinosaurs to become the dominant species for the next 145 million years. We do not know exactly what happened that eliminated so many species in a relatively short period of time, but there are several possible explanations. One theory involves the decline of sea levels. Near the end of the Triassic period, sea levels were fluctuating. When sea levels fall, the habitats for ocean populations that live in the shallows and land species that live on the coast are destroyed. The destruction of coastal and shallow-ocean species would have had a profound effect on food chains worldwide, leading to mass extinctions. Another theory involves massive climate cooling. The end of the Triassic period was marked by widespread volcanic activity. The volcanoes released large amounts of sulfur dioxide (S02). A rise in atmospheric S02 is known to cause a lowering in global temperatures. Such climate change could have devastated many species and led to the extinctions. The third theory involves an asteroid strike. Asteroids (objects from outer space) occasionally collide with Earth. When an asteroid hits Earth;s surface, it often displaces large amounts of soil and crushed rock, leaving behind a depression, or crater. The displaced debris is thrown up into the atmosphere where it can block out sunlight for many months or even a few years. A sufficiently massive asteroid impact at the end of the Triassic period may have blocked sunlight long enough for most plants to die and many animal species to then starve

The main idea of both the passage and the lecture is about the reasons for a mass-extinction event that happened at the end of the Triassic period. The author proposes three reasons and causes for extinction. The lecturer, on the contrary, refutes all three responses for the event and mentions that these are not good explanations for the happening.

To begin with, the reading claims the declining sea-level destroy habitats and lead to the mass-extinction. However, the listening asserts fluctuating and go down of sea level is quite gradual and happens in several million years, for extinction it needs to be sudden, also the populations that live in coastal and shallows are adoptive; therefore, it is not a good reason.

In addition, the text states that climate cooling because of volcanoes which released SO2 is another probability. Conversely, the talk makes an argument that there is no evidence for being SO2 in that climate because SO2 comes back with rain and the climate still has to present it but the atmosphere is clear out of that.

Lastly, the article argues that asteroid strike blocks sunlight and die many animal species. On the other hand, the lecture discusses, very few scientists accept the idea of the strike, because they find asteroid crater with a different date from extinction, actually, it is 12 million before the time expecting. As a result, the lecturer concludes this explanation has a problem too.