Essay topic: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should give the same amount of money to their students’ sports activities as they give to university libraries. Use specific reasons and examples to give your opinion.

Universities manage a lot of different activities and clubs on their annual plans. Furthermore, some of these are more important than others and this is determined by the vision of every university. Personally, I agree on the statement that universities should invest more money on sports activities instead of libraries. I will support my thinking in the next paragraphs.

First, I believe that sports are useful for students to take away stress. I think that one of the best ways to relax, not only your body but also your mind, is doing physical activity. My own personal experience is the perfect example of this. When I was in college I remember that me and my classmates used to be really busy with homework and projects. We were getting really stressed because it was to much work to do. But on Fridays, we always had basket game, so after the game was finished, we felt really relaxed because all the worries were gone. So if the university wants their students to be healthy not only physically but also mentally, they should give more money to these recreation activities. Although libraries can be really helpful for students, you can find a library everywhere, not only on the university. Also, students can easily find their books online.

Secondly, I support the idea of spending more on sports activities because some students are really good at them, and they can be given future opportunities such us play for an important soccer team, be in a professional team of volley or even they can make it to the Olympics. It happened once in my home town that the director of an important university decided to invest a lot of money to prepare a beach volley team, he called the best trainer in the city and made the team practice almost every day. By the end of the year, that group of young players had already won the local tourney.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that universities should invest more on sports activities rather than libraries. I am not saying that libraries aren’t good for alumni, but I am sure that sports are more necessary in a student life.