Essay topics: TPO-04 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I do not agree with the opinion that there will be fewer cars in use in twenty years because of the following reasons.

Although, because of the advance of technology, some people might anticipate the invention of 'flying cars', and thus the use of 'road cars' might be lesser. But the need of invention of 'flying cars' is created by the growing number of 'road cars'. As a result, although there is certainly the possibility that flying car might come out, the need of ‘road cars’ must still be strong. In addition to that, the short period of time, twenty years, might not be enough to come up with the regulations on the use of flying cars, also, even the corresponding regulations have set up, the price of flying cars might still be expensive. Thus, the publicity of flying cars might still be low, and hence 'road cars' would still be in the main use.

On top of that, capitalism might cause the need for transportation raise, and thus the need for car raise. Capitalism values the efficiency of production and the money earned. In response to the need for efficiency, the production of a product would be highly specialization, that is, if A has the advantage to produce A, B has the advantage to produce B, and A and B need to be assembled to be a product, then A should only make A and B should only make B. In this case, the transportation would be needed to take A and B to a place so that A and B could be assembled. Thus, the more capitalism is prevailed in the world the higher the need for cars.

To conclude, although the technology would advance, the use of cars would still in need because 1) if the flying car has come out, the flying cars might not be mature enough to use and 2) the popularity of capitalism in the world could make the need of cars significant.