TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I do agree with the statement that it is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject because of the following reasons.

First, in terms of the academic subject itself, some knowledge from different subjects is interconnected. That is, it is seldom possible to understand an academic subject without having knowledge that related to other subjects. For example, to understand human behavior (the subject of Psychology), we need to understand factors that affect it, which include biological factor (the subject of human biology), the factor of society (the subject of society), and the factor of the person himself/herself (the subject of personality).

Second, if we consider this question from the job market's perspective of view, it might be better to have a considerable range of knowledge rather than one specific knowledge in the majority. Having different knowledge would benefit the person to solve more problems or to solve problems in a creative way. Let us say someone is working in a company that trade food products, it would be fine if the person only has knowledge in trading, but if the person also has the knowledge in food or in chemistry, it would allow the person to also consider the environment when the food is in shipping (e.g., the proper temperature that suit for specific type of food) and thus prevent the company from losing money.

Third, having broad knowledge would make life easier. As a human, we have to deal with many problems in everyday life, for example, the toilet is broken or the car is fogging up inside, and we have to get rid of it. In these cases, if we have knowledge in engineering or in physics, we might be able to solve these problems quickly.

To conclude, I am in favor of having a broad range of knowledge rather than a specific knowledge because it would make our life easier, including personal life and career life.