Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

After finishing high school, it is very challenging and confusing for students what to learn in college. Some students want to specialize in one major while others like to get education in many academic subjects. In my opinion, it is better to specialize in one specific subject because it would be good for our career, can do further research study, and success.

First of all, specializing in one particular subject will be helpful in our future career. People who finish their college education studying one specific field related subjects, can find a job very easily. For example after finishing high school, I decided to get admission in pharmacy school, but one of my friends was confused about what to learn in college. So he decided to get knowledge in several subjects. Hence, after finishing my college and internship hours in my specific field I was a pharmacist and was ready to join my job as a pharmacist right away because while doing my internship hours I got the job offer in the same company which I accepted happily. However, my friend was still struggling to find a job because he had no specific field to work after completing his education.

Furthermore, when you will graduate from college in one specific subject, you have an opportunity to do research study on your particular field. That research work or further specialization in your particular field will open doors for your successful life. For instance, one of my school friends went to medical school because he wanted to be a doctor. After finishing his education he did work as a doctor for a couple of years then he decided to be a cardiologist. After finishing his fellowship in cardiology, now, he has a very successful life. He has a high standard job and making a lot of money. Suppose, in college if he didn’t decide to choose a specific field, instead studied combinations of different subjects then wouldn’t be able to specialize in any particular field.

In conclusion, if we have interest to get knowledge in many academic subjects, we can just read books or get knowledge from internet about these subjects. However, for further education we should choose one specific subject and continue finishing our education that particular field because it is good for our carrier, further research work, and successful life.