TPO-11 - Independent Writing Task

Some people say that the Internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. Others think access to much information creates problems. Which view do you agree with?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The advance of technology has been quicker and quicker today, and so does the advance of the internet. While some people might believe that the internet has brought more problems than advantages, and people should try to get rid of the internet and live a simple life, I believe that the internet has brought a considerable amount of benefit, to be specific, brought so much information that could benefit people's life, that happened in almost all aspect of our life.

First, the social aspect of information. The internet has let people know about the social event that happens in our lives, and we have to do is to search on the internet and tons of information would come up. For example, the marathon dates or the Christmas market dates. By knowing this information, we could easily be involved in the community and the people around us.

Second, the academic information. For students and researchers, the internet is a great place to find information including scientific paper, conference, or public speaking events. This information gives students and researchers a strong support on research paper, academic presentation and even for professional development.

Third, the 'spiritual' information. In recent years, there are more and more so-called civilization diseases, that is, the diseases that occurred because of the modern life, be discovered. As a result, there is more and more self-help information appear on the internet, such as stress management and coping strategies. With this information available online, people could assess this information with just a click and take good care of themselves.

In a nutshell, in my opinion, the internet provides us with lots of information that could benefit our lives, includes but not limited to social information, academic information, and spiritual information.